2 days vs 3 years

Last Friday we held a welcome meeting for the group of 4 teachers and 24 students from Coventry University. This is my first time spending a whole week communicating with British students, and it’s really a good chance for me to improve my English and learn about how they work as a team. Writes Jenny Liu…

In the first 2 days I felt I had learned much more about their culture than I had gained from the books in the 3 years of my high school life. I think this is because we were working in a real communication environment, rather than there being one foreign teacher standing in the front of the classroom lecturing more than 40 students in high school.

Everyone here is outgoing, and while they may not be as active as Americans are, I feel they are similar to most Chinese people. Sylvia is my Chinese classmate, and we were in a group with Jessica and Joe. Sometimes we encountered problems due to the language barrier but they were always helpful, meaning we could solve the problems quickly and continue writing articles.

上周五我们为来自考文垂大学的由4个老师和24个学生组成的交流团队举行了欢迎会。这是我第一次用一整个星期的时间与来自英国的学生交流学习。对于练习英语来说这是个绝好的机会而且能学习更好地团队合作精神。

在最初的两天里,我感觉我学到的远比我在中学里从英语书上学到的东西多!我想这是因为我在一个真实的英语交流环境里,而不是一个外教站在教室前面面对40几个学生讲课。

这里的每个人都很好相处,虽然他们可能不像美国人那样活跃,但这却更接近中国人的习惯。梁逸骅是和我同班的学生,我们与Jessica和Joe在同一个小组。有时我们会遇到语言上的问题,但是他们会很耐心地帮助我们,所以我们可以很快地解决问题而继续完成任务。

Leave a comment

Filed under China Trip 2011

Leave a Reply

