Journalism student making waves at local radio station!

A SECOND YEAR journalism student at Coventry University has been rewarded for his hard work by becoming Mercia Radio’s ‘freelancer of the year’.

Tim Watson, 21, who is originally from Dudley, has been doing work experience at the station since June and works as the Technical Operative for the home games at Coventry City FC. Tim was nominated for the award by staff at station and spoke about his achievement:

“The award was for recognition of the work I’ve been doing at Mercia. As well as my work with outside broadcasts at the football ground, I also work with the station’s promotional team, The Mercia Thunders, as well as going in to help out as much as I can with the breakfast team and any other jobs that need doing.”

Tim also helps out with the technical operations at Mercia’s sister station, BRMB in Birmingham, is the Station Manager at the University’s own radio station, Source Radio and also writes for two magazines on the subject of cars.

Speaking of cars, although Tim is carving out a career in the technical side of things at the moment, he still as a burning ambition to fulfill and hopes to follow in some extremely big footsteps in TV one day; those of Jeremy Clarkson.

Tim added: “I have aspirations to work as a TV Motoring Journalist and I guess one of my dream jobs would be to work on something like Top Gear. I am not as outspoken as Jeremy Clarkson but would just love to be in his shoes as he has to have one of the best jobs on television!”

 

Tune into Source Radio for music and chat produced by Coventry University Students

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Journalism student making waves at local radio station!

  1. Hi sweetie, sweet blog! I genuinely appreciate this post.. I was curious about this for a long time now. This cleared a lot up for me! Do you have a rss feed that I can add?

Leave a Reply

