Is there life after a Journalism course? Coventry Class of 2009 – James Robinson

AFTER GRADUATING with a degree in Journalism and Media this summer, it quickly hit me that a career in ‘journalism’ wasn’t for me. A wasted three years? No. the skills I learnt have helped me embark on a career in PR and Comms that I wanted to pursue.

With the huge financial debt lingering behind every recent graduate, the initial hunt is for a job that pays…well. This is not easy, especially in the economic downturn, which still is causing havoc across all industries.

The searching is generally the easy bit. Trying to stand out on a piece of paper is really tough and doing enough to secure an interview is near on impossible. I boast an e-mail inbox that has 48 “thanks, but no thanks” letters of reply.

It’s safe to say that it became a demoralising task. Knowing you put in three years of hard work and then there is nothing for you to do after, was tough both emotionally and financially for me.

I then decided that maybe the relevant work experience I had was not sufficient enough for a permanent job in the sector I was looking. I then started researching internships in PR. This became a more fruitful task; companies suddenly began to notice me and actually invite me in to meet them. After searching, applying and having the odd interview my dream opportunity in PR and Comms suddenly opened up to me.

In the space of 2 weeks, I applied – had an interview and was offered a position as Communications Assistant at ‘The Dame Kelly Holmes Legacy Trust’. This 6 month internship, already a month in, has given me the opportunity to show the organisation the skills I had obtained from my time at Coventry University.

My job, which I am thoroughly enjoying, consists of many PR and Comms tasks. Writing press releases on different events that either the Trust or Dame Kelly herself have attended. Ringing up journalists to ask them about a story or event we are holding and if they would like to come and write a feature. Working for the Dame Kelly Holmes Legacy Trust has sent me all across country the from Bognor Regis – Manchester – Portsmouth – Liverpool. And the list is growing into the New Year.

My main project at the moment is organising the entire local and national PR for our Charity Runners who are running in the Great South Run in Portsmouth at the end of October. We have 9 runners taking part and my job is to create local and national ‘buzz’ about them personally running, the Trust and Dame Kelly’s new scheme – ‘Kelly’s Charity Runners’. The scheme was set up by Dame Kelly as she wants people up and down the country to get their kit on and get running to raise much needed funds for a cause close to Kelly’s heart: inspiring young people.

Overall I think taking this internship was the perfect opportunity for me, I will gain experience in working for a high profile figure in Dame Kelly, learn valuable PR and Comms skills that will set me up, for what will hopefully be a rewarding career.

 

If anyone is interested in running and would like to join ‘Kelly’s Charity Runners’ then please contact: kcr@dkhlegacytrust.org 

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Leave a Reply

